

Sarhaul, Sector-18, Gurgaon-122015 (Haryana), INDIA. Phone : (91-124) 2341477 (D); 4194342; 4194400; 4194200 E-mail : sunpharma.sciencefoundation@sunpharma.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Sun Pharma Science Foundation recognizes Indian scientists for exemplary contribution in pharma & medical science

New Delhi – February 13, 2018: Sun Pharma Science Foundation, a non-profit organization registered under Societies Registration Act announced the Sun Pharma Science Awards to Indian Scientists for their outstanding work and exemplary contribution to medical research. These awards are presented in two categories - **The Sun Pharma Research Awards** for outstanding scientists and **Sun Pharma Science Scholar Awards** for young researchers. The winners for both these awards are identified in two sub-categories - Medical Sciences and Pharmaceutical Sciences. An eminent jury panel comprising well-known scientists from India selected the final winners. These Awards are presented annually to Indian scientists & young researchers working in India and abroad.

The awards were presented by Prof. Vishwajit Nimgaonkar, Professor of Psychiatry and Human Genetics at the University of Pittsburgh, USA and Mr. Dilip Shanghvi, Managing Director, Sun Pharma.

Sun Pharma Research Award Winners for 2016

Medical Sciences – Basic Research Award Winner

Dr. Rajan Sankaranarayanan Chief Scientist CSIR-Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology Uppal Road, Hyderabad – 500 007, India

Dr. Sankaranarayanan receives this award for his outstanding contributions in the area of protein biosynthesis, by studying proofreading mechanisms using structural biology approaches.



Sarhaul, Sector-18, Gurgaon-122015 (Haryana), INDIA. Phone : (91-124) 2341477 (D); 4194342; 4194400; 4194200 E-mail : sunpharma.sciencefoundation@sunpharma.com

Medical Sciences- Medical Research Award Winner

Dr. Vikram Mathews

Associate Director Professor and Head Department of Clinical Haematology Christian Medical College Vellore 632004, India

Dr. Mathews receives this award for his outstanding work in Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia (APL) and the use of arsenic trioxide (ATO) in the treatment of this condition.

Medical Sciences- Clinical Research Award Winner

Prof. Ashish Suri Professor of Neurosurgery Neurosciences Center All India Institute of Medical Sciences New Delhi, India

Prof. Ashish Suri receives this award for his pioneering research in developing innovative techniques and treatment protocols for complex skull-base and brain tumour surgery.

Pharmaceutical Sciences Award Winner

Dr. D. Srinivasa Reddy Senior Scientist Division of Organic Chemistry CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory Dr. Homi Bhabha Road, Pune 411008, India

Dr. Reddy receives this award for his excellent work in the area of total synthesis of biologically active natural products and medicinal chemistry using "silicon incorporation approach" towards identification of lead molecules of therapeutic potential.



Sarhaul, Sector-18, Gurgaon-122015 (Haryana), INDIA. Phone : (91-124) 2341477 (D); 4194342; 4194400; 4194200 E-mail : sunpharma.sciencefoundation@sunpharma.com

SUN PHARMA SCIENCE SCHOLAR AWARD WINNERS FOR 2017

Bio-Medical Sciences Award Winner

Ms. Punita Kumari

PhD student Biological Sciences & Bioengineering department Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur-208016, India

Ms. Punita Kumari receives the award for developing a better understanding of the signalling and regulation of G protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs), the largest class of drug targets in the human body.

Ms. Aditi Jain

PhD Candidate Senior Research Fellow Centre for BioSystems Science and Engineering Indian Institute of Science Bangalore-560012, India

Ms. Aditi Jain receives the award for her research work on 'Understanding cardiac failure using engineered materials' that provides a suitable laboratory substitute to conduct research on cardiac cells for developing better therapies to treat heart diseases.

PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES AWARD WINNER

Mr. Gaurav Joshi PhD Candidate Junior Research Fellow Laboratory for Drug Design and Synthesis Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Natural Products Central University of Punjab Bathinda-151001, India



Sarhaul, Sector-18, Gurgaon-122015 (Haryana), INDIA. Phone : (91-124) 2341477 (D); 4194342; 4194400; 4194200 E-mail : sunpharma.sciencefoundation@sunpharma.com

Mr. Joshi receives the award for his research work entitled "Targeting chromatin coupled enzymes by small molecules in cancer cells" that explored the design strategies, synthesis and biological evaluation of the novel heterocycles as the multifunctional inhibitors of Epidermal Growth Factor Receptors (EGFR), Histone Deacetylases (HDAC) and Human Topoisomerases (hTopo) as anticancer agents.

Mr. Shasank Sekhar Swain

PhD Research Scholar, Central Research Laboratory, Institute of Medical Sciences & SUM Hospital, Siksha 'O' Anusandhan (Deemed to be University), Bhubaneswar-751003, Odisha, India

Mr. Swain receives the award for his innovative research work, "Conjugation of a phytochemical with an obsolete drug as a novel strategy towards antimicrobial drug discovery: a case study with sulfonamide-monoterpene phenols against MRSA".

Sun Pharma Science Foundation also conducted its Annual Conference on the subject, "Training Pathways for Physician Scientists" in association with Translational Health Science & Technology Institute, Faridabad. Prof. K. VijayRaghavan, Former Secretary DBT, Government of India delivered the Inaugural Address. Eminent scientists from India & abroad participated in the conference.

About Sun Pharma Science Foundation

Sun Pharma Science Foundation is a non-profit organization registered under Societies Registration Act. It promotes scientific research in the field of Medical and Pharmaceutical Sciences in the country through encouragement and rewarding excellence in research by channelizing both national and international knowledge and expertise. The sole mission of the Foundation is "to promote Medical and Pharmaceutical Research in India by rewarding excellence and identifying sources of knowledge and expertise". The Sun Pharma Science Foundation is an independent Society managed by an autonomous Governing Council and all the Council Members are independent and have no interest in the commercial activities of Sun



Sarhaul, Sector-18, Gurgaon-122015 (Haryana), INDIA. Phone : (91-124) 2341477 (D); 4194342; 4194400; 4194200 E-mail : sunpharma.sciencefoundation@sunpharma.com

Pharmaceutical Industries Limited. The Foundation is chaired by Prof. Virander S. Chauhan, D Phil (Oxon), J. C. Bose Fellow (DST), Distinguished Biotechnology Research Professor, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi.

Media Contact

Gaurav Chugh Tel : +91 22 4324 4324, Ext 5373 Tel Direct : +91 22 43245373 Mobile : +91 98104 71414 E mail : gaurav.chugh@sunpharma.com

Investors Contact

Nimish Desai Tel : +91 22 4324 4324, Ext 2778 Tel Direct : +91 22 43242778 Mobile : +91 98203 30182 E mail: <u>nimish.desai@sunpharma.com</u>